Health Care Innovation Awards Evaluation - Complex/High-Risk Patient Targeting

‚ÄčThe Health Care Innovation Awards (HCIAs) fund 107 initiatives across the country that propose compelling new ideas to further the three-part aim of better care for the individual, better health for populations, and lower costs through improvement of the care delivery process. Twenty three (23) of these initiatives focus on addressing the needs of medically fragile, complex, and high risk patients who are high users of medical and long-term care services and supports. The Center for Medicare and Medicaid Innovation (the Innovation Center) has asked NORC to evaluate how well this subset of awardees addresses the needs of complex/high risk patients and fulfills the three-part aim. The Innovation Center has also asked NORC to provide it, and the awardees, with rapid feedback on how to improve the design and implementation of the initiatives. 

The 23 HCIA awardees in this evaluation are:

  • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center - Boston, Massachusetts
  • California Long-Term Care Education Center - Los Angeles, California
  • Courage Center - Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • Developmental Disabilities Health Services PA - Camden County, New Jersey
  • Johns Hopkins School of Nursing - Baltimore, Maryland
  • Johns Hopkins University - Baltimore, Maryland
  • LifeLong Medical Care - Berkeley, California
  • North Carolina Community Care Networks - Raleigh, North Carolina
  • Northland Healthcare Alliance - Bismarck, North Dakota
  • Palliative Care Consultants of Santa Barbara - Santa Barbara, California
  • Pittsburgh Regional Health Initiative - Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
  • Providence Portland Medical Center - Portland, Oregon
  • South Carolina Research Foundation - Columbia, South Carolina
  • St. Francis Healthcare Foundation of Hawaii - Honolulu, Hawaii
  • Suttercare Corporation - Sacramento, California
  • University Emergency Medical Services - Buffalo, New York
  • University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences - Fayetteville, Arkansas
  • University of Iowa - Iowa City, Iowa
  • University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center - Albuquerque, New Mexico
  • University of North Texas Health Science Center - Fort Worth, Texas
  • University of Rhode Island - Kingston, Rhode Island
  • University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston - Houston, Texas
  • Vanderbilt University Medical Center - Nashville, Tennessee

This is a rapid-cycle evaluation, incorporating frequent feedback to awardees about their ongoing evaluation and HCIA award.  

Infographics and Visualizations



View All